A1000 heatsinks

What people are working on at the moment
Daniel Quinn
Old Hand

#1 A1000 heatsinks

Post by Daniel Quinn »

I’ve had some class a boards based on musical fidelity a1000 for some time . They are a lot larger than they looked in the photos ( 14 inch by 6 inch ) and require it says a heatsink that is 6kg per board !.

I can’t find 6kg heatsinks and weight is not the best indicator of heat dissipation.

As anybody any idea of Suitable heatsink?
ed
retired

#2 Re: A1000 heatsinks

Post by ed »

I'll start by saying that I have no experience of the a1000, although I do have the circuit, without any voltage figures unfortunately.

There were 2 distinct a1000 versions mentioned on the web, and various clones. The original was 2 narrow boards, each with 4 x mj15004 and 4 x mj15003. Some sources say 30w per channel and some say 50w. Nailing down the heat dissipation for your boards would be nigh on impossible without the voltage figures.

an example: www.amazon.co.uk/Musical-Fidelity-MJ150 ... B077794X9S

Heatsinks are usually measure in coefficient and specified as degrees c/watt. I can give you a rough idea based on the sinks I use for my class a amps. I consistently use conrad sinks that are 300mm front to back by 150mm high by 40mm fins. These are specced at 0.25 degrees per watt and weigh 2.5kg. They consistently come in at 45 degrees, which is roughly 25-30 degrees above ambient.

In reality my sinks look slightly bigger than the original sinks fitted to the mf a1000. all my class a amps produce no more than 100w dissipation per channel. I would take your 6kg figure under advisement.
The original A1000 had 400va tx and 28-30v rails so I would guess it produces no more heat than one of mine so a sink with 0.2 degrees or below would be adequate.....

it's a guess but if you had some voltage figures for your board we could give you an exact figure.
There's nowhere you can be that isn't where you're meant to be
Daniel Quinn
Old Hand

#3 Re: A1000 heatsinks