what Headphone amp do you have

For anything about cans, and the amplifiers that drive them
User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 14374
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

#76

Post by Nick »

Yep, it doesn't need to be that big, maybe 3u3 would be good, possibly smaller. Maybe a good place for a oil cap.

You might reduce the 100k by the DC resistance of the choke to keep the same voltage. maybe not worth bothering. 150H might not be enough, but its worth trying. Shiuld be a simple enough change to try, I would just use a couple of small electrolytic caps first, to see how the sound is with the choke.
Little known fact, coherent thought can destructively interfere with itself leaving no thought at all, that’s why I prefer incoherent thought.
User avatar
colin.hepburn
Shed dweller
Posts: 2294
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 1:24 am
Location: Scotland Aberdeenshire

#77

Post by colin.hepburn »

Thanks nick
a Little bit more knowledge learned thanks just to be sure the Hammond choke is the 156C 150H @ 8mA 3700 ohms from bluebell
Colin
The Blues man ImageImage
User avatar
Mudshark
Old Hand
Posts: 332
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 2:57 pm

#78 Re: what Headphone amp do you have

Post by Mudshark »

NVA.
rsz_img_20150312_105352.jpg
:occasion5:
User avatar
Mudshark
Old Hand
Posts: 332
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 2:57 pm

#79 Re: what Headphone amp do you have

Post by Mudshark »

Gosh....No comments then.....

I know, it cant be bettered. :mrgreen:
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 20218
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

#80 Re: what Headphone amp do you have

Post by pre65 »

Mudshark wrote:Gosh....No comments then.....

I know, it cant be bettered. :mrgreen:

What you mean Jammy is that it's the best YOU have heard. :)
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 14374
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

#81 Re: what Headphone amp do you have

Post by Nick »

Not heard the NVA one, so can't comment.
Little known fact, coherent thought can destructively interfere with itself leaving no thought at all, that’s why I prefer incoherent thought.
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 20218
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

#82 Re: what Headphone amp do you have

Post by pre65 »

Nick wrote:Not heard the NVA one, so can't comment.
Richard did a special one for Jammy, twin power supplies I think.
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
User avatar
Ray P
Thermionic Monk Status
Posts: 5480
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:18 pm
Location: Somerset

#83 Re: what Headphone amp do you have

Post by Ray P »

I'm hatching plans for a 300B headphone amp; essentially the same circuit as my 300B SE-OTL power amps but just one 300B per channel (instead of four).

Ray
User avatar
Mudshark
Old Hand
Posts: 332
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 2:57 pm

#84 Re: what Headphone amp do you have

Post by Mudshark »

pre65 wrote:
Mudshark wrote:Gosh....No comments then.....

I know, it cant be bettered. :mrgreen:

What you mean Jammy is that it's the best YOU have heard. :)
Well, it would hardly be the best I'VE never heard. :?:
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 20218
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

#85 Re: what Headphone amp do you have

Post by pre65 »

Mudshark wrote:
pre65 wrote:
Mudshark wrote:Gosh....No comments then.....

I know, it cant be bettered. :mrgreen:

What you mean Jammy is that it's the best YOU have heard. :)
Well, it would hardly be the best I'VE never heard. :?:
Well Jammy, you said it can't be bettered, but how many other headphone amps have you heard ?

Probably not that many, so my original quote is accurate. :lol:
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
User avatar
Mudshark
Old Hand
Posts: 332
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 2:57 pm

#86 Re: what Headphone amp do you have

Post by Mudshark »

Now dont be a snooty Bar steward Noddy........

Why the fuk, should you presume to know, how many Headphone amps I've heard. :!:
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 20218
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

#87 Re: what Headphone amp do you have

Post by pre65 »

Mudshark wrote:Now dont be a snooty Bar steward Noddy........

Why the fuk, should you presume to know, how many Headphone amps I've heard. :!:
Perhaps you can enlighten us as to what headphone amps you have listened to so as to put your judgement into perspective.

I'd be interested to hear your opinions.
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
User avatar
Mudshark
Old Hand
Posts: 332
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 2:57 pm

#88 Re: what Headphone amp do you have

Post by Mudshark »

Since by yer own admission, you dont much listen to headphones.

Fuk you.... :mrgreen:
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 20218
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

#89 Re: what Headphone amp do you have

Post by pre65 »

Mudshark wrote:Since by yer own admission, you dont much listen to headphones.

Fuk you.... :mrgreen:
I was trying to get you to see the difference between

A) The best you have ever heard.

and

B) The best there is.

That's all.
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 14374
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

#90 Re: what Headphone amp do you have

Post by Nick »

Let me know when you have both worked out what "best" means in the last few emails.
Little known fact, coherent thought can destructively interfere with itself leaving no thought at all, that’s why I prefer incoherent thought.
Post Reply