Nothing In Particular

Subjects that don't have their own home
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 21409
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex/Suffolk border.

#16486 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by pre65 »

Mike H wrote: Tue Apr 16, 2024 7:16 pm
So it's the 4 weeks is it, and then?
Depends on her progress, but going back to her home is but a remote possibility, sad to say. :(
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
User avatar
Mike H
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 20208
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 5:38 pm
Location: The Fens
Contact:

#16487 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by Mike H »

Know what you mean. My mum was in and out of various facilities, including hospital, ended up in a care home via Whitmore Way, which would be northeast of Basildon town centre.
 
"No matter how fast light travels it finds that the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it."
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 21409
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex/Suffolk border.

#16488 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by pre65 »

Mike H wrote: Tue Apr 16, 2024 7:50 pm Know what you mean. My mum was in and out of various facilities, including hospital, ended up in a care home via Whitmore Way, which would be northeast of Basildon town centre.
Aha, I remember Whitmore way.

In my youth I spent mucho wonga in Nelson and Ford motorbike shop. It later was called Chucks if memory serves ?
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
User avatar
Mike H
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 20208
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 5:38 pm
Location: The Fens
Contact:

#16489 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by Mike H »

Ah, memories! Yes ditto. A friend used to call them Nelson and Fiddlies, 'fiddle' alluding to exorbitant prices aka daylight robbery. But then if you must have a Honda...

I stopped going in there after the kid behind the counter, who seemed to have perpetual hayfever, even through the winter months, said to me once "When are you going to buy another new bike from us?" (I'd had two.)
 
"No matter how fast light travels it finds that the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it."
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 21409
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex/Suffolk border.

#16490 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by pre65 »

I'm spending this week attending an indoor bowls championship in Lincoln, and am billeted at the Poachers inn at Metheringham.

We have a nice mews type flat with two bedrooms behind the pub.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
User avatar
Mike H
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 20208
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 5:38 pm
Location: The Fens
Contact:

#16491 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by Mike H »

Very nice too! :D
 
"No matter how fast light travels it finds that the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it."
User avatar
jack
Thermionic Monk Status
Posts: 5518
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: ɐılɐɹʇsnɐ oʇ ƃuıʌoɯ ƃuıɹǝpısuoɔ
Contact:

#16492 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by jack »

Anyone here switched from POTS (copper) home phone to VoIP and kept their old number?
Vivitur ingenio, caetera mortis erunt
User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 15793
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

#16493 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by Nick »

My internal POTS phones are now plugged into the BT Modem instead of the filter if that's what you mean. But I suspect you mean a third party SIP's provider.
Whenever an honest man discovers that he's mistaken, he will either cease to be mistaken or he will cease to be honest.
User avatar
jack
Thermionic Monk Status
Posts: 5518
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: ɐılɐɹʇsnɐ oʇ ƃuıʌoɯ ƃuıɹǝpısuoɔ
Contact:

#16494 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by jack »

Nick wrote: Tue Apr 30, 2024 12:41 pm My internal POTS phones are now plugged into the BT Modem instead of the filter if that's what you mean. But I suspect you mean a third party SIP's provider.
Indeed - can't use a BT SmartHub and BT only offer DigitalVoice which is proprietary and must be used with a BT SMartHub2 as the modem/router. Bleugh.

So, 3rd party SIPs it must be...
Vivitur ingenio, caetera mortis erunt
User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 15793
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

#16495 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by Nick »

Remind me again why you cant use a BT Hub?
Whenever an honest man discovers that he's mistaken, he will either cease to be mistaken or he will cease to be honest.
User avatar
jack
Thermionic Monk Status
Posts: 5518
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: ɐılɐɹʇsnɐ oʇ ƃuıʌoɯ ƃuıɹǝpısuoɔ
Contact:

#16496 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by jack »

Nick wrote: Tue Apr 30, 2024 1:30 pm Remind me again why you cant use a BT Hub?
Because it's an Ubiquiti system - The BT hub insists you use their DNS and constrains what you can and cannot do. It's fine for many use cases, but not ours. I believe that the SmartHub3 may allow more flexibility, but it's still ties you into BT. Basically, they want to make you use their managed hub so that their support is easier.
Last edited by jack on Tue Apr 30, 2024 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Vivitur ingenio, caetera mortis erunt
Tony Moore
Old Hand
Posts: 508
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 12:24 am
Location: New Brighton

#16497 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by Tony Moore »

I had the same issue when going to full fibre a couple of years ago. I didn't want to use BT Hub as I have a pfSense and VLANs setup so wanted to keep on using my own system but the BT Hub is required to use their phones and existing phone number.

So I just got my own Voip phones and use 3rd party Voip services, which works way better as I can also have a local phone number in Milwaukee, which costs peanuts. (For family calling to POTs lines)
User avatar
jack
Thermionic Monk Status
Posts: 5518
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: ɐılɐɹʇsnɐ oʇ ƃuıʌoɯ ƃuıɹǝpısuoɔ
Contact:

#16498 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by jack »

Tony Moore wrote: Tue Apr 30, 2024 2:15 pm I had the same issue when going to full fibre a couple of years ago. I didn't want to use BT Hub as I have a pfSense and VLANs setup so wanted to keep on using my own system but the BT Hub is required to use their phones and existing phone number.

So I just got my own Voip phones and use 3rd party Voip services, which works way better as I can also have a local phone number in Milwaukee, which costs peanuts. (For family calling to POTs lines)
Who do you use? BT will allow you to port the number BTW...
Vivitur ingenio, caetera mortis erunt
User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 15793
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

#16499 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by Nick »

Because it's an Ubiquiti system
It may be simpler to do what Tony does, but you should be able to just use the BT Hub as a modem, I do the same, and connect to my pfSense box using PPPoE.
Whenever an honest man discovers that he's mistaken, he will either cease to be mistaken or he will cease to be honest.
User avatar
jack
Thermionic Monk Status
Posts: 5518
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: ɐılɐɹʇsnɐ oʇ ƃuıʌoɯ ƃuıɹǝpısuoɔ
Contact:

#16500 Re: Nothing In Particular

Post by jack »

Nick wrote: Tue Apr 30, 2024 2:41 pm
Because it's an Ubiquiti system
It may be simpler to do what Tony does, but you should be able to just use the BT Hub as a modem, I do the same, and connect to my pfSense box using PPPoE.
When I originally set this up, the SmartHub couldn't do pass-through... and if you think about it, for the DigitalVoice part of it to work it'd have to be routing as well.
Vivitur ingenio, caetera mortis erunt
Post Reply