Cameras

Subjects that don't have their own home
Ant
Shed dweller

#1 Cameras

Post by Ant »

One for the photographers, my wife takes alot of pictures of her corals in the marine fish tank we have, and is finding that the phone camera is just not up to the job.

The pictures she takes tend to be close up shots, not sure they are macro shots, they are of the corals as a whole. And closer in shots of the polyps on the branches of the corals.

I dont want to spend a fortune on a camera although it will be used for more than just corals if i get one, but i know practically nothing about these things. Ive been using whatever camera my phone has on it for almost 20 years (i was one of those fools who had the very first camera phones in the early 2000s)

I 'think' a dslr is needed, but there are a million and one options

Any help appreciated

Cheers ant
Also starring Rex Hamilton as Abraham Lincoln

www.bte-designs.weebly.com
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power

#2 Re: Cameras

Post by pre65 »

Ant wrote: Wed Jun 23, 2021 3:58 pm
I 'think' a dslr is needed, but there are a million and one options

Any help appreciated

Cheers ant
A million and 26 options.

Only consider a DSLR if you really need interchangeable lens.

Is she taking pictures of coral through the tank glass ?
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
IslandPink
Amstrad Tower of Power

#3 Re: Cameras

Post by IslandPink »

You're right that there's a million & one options. I'm no expert on all that's out there, though I know a fair bit more since getting a digital camera early last year. I suppose it's worth asking what is the most demanding thing she'll do with the pictures that she's taken ? If it's just Facebook or email, then the file sizes won't have to be any more than about 3MB.