Valve phonostage build

If they glow, this is the place to be
Bigman80
User

#1 Valve phonostage build

Post by Bigman80 »

Hi all,
This is my first build other than a little DC blocker. I have been trying to improve my knowledge and ability so felt I should probably do something I can enjoy. Maybe.

I decided to go for this Valve wizard designed PCB http://www.valvewizard.co.uk/phonopcb.html
Merlin (apt name) was a lovely guy to deal with and offered me a PSU PCB too. In total i spent £9 for two boards. Cheap enough to not mater too much if I make a mess of it!

I also got a very useful flow chart of components and “build options” and here is my first sticking point. What’s the “best” choice in terms of Capacitance, Output impedance and gain. I am set on a split equalisation configuration, so I’d love your input!! What valves types would you use???

Flow chart here: http://www.valvewizard.co.uk/Phono_PCB_BOM.pdf

PS any recommendations on components would be welcome too. I’d like to go for high quality parts.

Cheers
IslandPink
Amstrad Tower of Power

#2 Re: Valve phonostage build

Post by IslandPink »

Not a bad circuit. I would prefer the coupling cap from stage 1 to stage 2 to be AFTER the RIAA section, that way the RIAA caps are biased up to around 100 to 120V which makes them sound nicer. However this will not be easy to modify on the PCB.

I'm not sure on the all-in-one vs. split option. I have only built all-in-one, which can be very good as long as the impedance of the RIAA is at least 8x the output impedance of the driving valve.
For that reason I'd suggest ECC88 or 6N1P as V1, then you can go for gain in V2 ( as it is backed up by the V3 C.F. ) so depending on your gain requirement, probably ECC83 as V2, then ECC88 as V3. I would recommend good NOS ECC88's , they sound a lot better than cheap modern ones.

If you used split RIAA it might compromise your option to use ECC83 for gain in V2, since it would also be loaded by a filter.