ebay DAC

Dedicated to the silver disk spinner
User avatar
david C
Old Hand
Posts: 640
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 5:12 pm
Location: south west London

#31

Post by david C »

the toslink cable is optical so no wires inside.
David

Wasps are the Katie Price of the Animal Kingdom - utterly pointless and bloody irritating!
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 19464
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

#32

Post by pre65 »

I use one of those to convert the optical (Toslink) output of my TV so I can use my E-bay DAC.

Then all you need is a phono socket on the DAC SPDIF input and a digital interconnect lead with a phono plug each end.
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
User avatar
floppybootstomp
Old Hand
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:37 pm
Location: Greenwich

#33

Post by floppybootstomp »

colin.hepburn wrote:NO you will need the Toslink cable and one of these converters works brill
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/200602526506? ... 1438.l2649
Thank you :D
Relevant boxes ticked - certified loony
User avatar
floppybootstomp
Old Hand
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:37 pm
Location: Greenwich

#34

Post by floppybootstomp »

david C wrote:the toslink cable is optical so no wires inside.
Aha. We live & learn ;)
Relevant boxes ticked - certified loony
richardcooper2k
Old Hand
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: sheffield

#35

Post by richardcooper2k »

BOM in post dated 8/8/11 on DIY audio

The most recent one i think
Attachments
MINI2496 BOM.pdf
(10.97 KiB) Downloaded 665 times
Neal
Shed dweller
Posts: 2088
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:57 am
Location: From the land of the Bodgers

#36

Post by Neal »

Thanks Richard, who was the reseller?

Edit: OK found it thanks!
Max N
Old Hand
Posts: 1273
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:10 pm

#37

Post by Max N »

Thanks Richard :D
richardcooper2k
Old Hand
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: sheffield

#38

Post by richardcooper2k »

The picture Max posted is very useful as the component numbers are not on the board
http://www.audio-talk.co.uk/phpBB2/view ... &start=285

Also i found some of the photos on the DIY audio thred useful to confirm positions, orientations, etc
a link to a page with one of them:
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/digital- ... -a-47.html

If you replace any caps on the -ve supply with electrolytics remember the +ve terminal of the cap goes to earth (I got C17 the wrong way round and it blew, fortunatly no other harm done)
User avatar
colin.hepburn
Shed dweller
Posts: 2294
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 1:24 am
Location: Scotland Aberdeenshire

#39

Post by colin.hepburn »

Sorry of topic a wee bit or is it
Well I never I have been using the AK4396 for the last three years and didn’t even know I just knew that it sounded good turned out this dac is in my Samsung DP1500 Blue Ray DVD player a nice surprises :shock: 8)
Attachments
DVD DAC AK4396.jpg
Colin
The Blues man ImageImage
User avatar
al newall
Needs to get out more
Posts: 1734
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 7:55 pm
Location: Chester

#40

Post by al newall »

That's interesting Colin.
But maybe not a big surprise as this DAC chip has been around for for a while. It must be fitted in loads of stuff.
We probably have the Chinese to thank for bringing it to our attention.
Much to learn there is.
Neal
Shed dweller
Posts: 2088
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:57 am
Location: From the land of the Bodgers

#41

Post by Neal »

Whilst rummaging through my bits bins I came across a DAC I'd forgotten I had bought a long time back. I think its one of those Lampucera DACs, theres one for sale on E-bay at the moment.

Image

Image

Anyhow thought I'd get it going for a shoot out with the AK and Caimen over the break. I've tweaked it slightly, blackgates on the output instead of the surface mount jobbies and replaced the PSU regulators with some MC types and installed my new LME49860.

Only listened to it via headphones so far but its better than the standard AK with LM4562. could just be down to the LME/Blackgates but its good enough to warrant a case.

Image

So welcome to my Biscuit DAC, £5 from Sainsbury's...before I can mount it though we need to eat these :D

Image
User avatar
al newall
Needs to get out more
Posts: 1734
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 7:55 pm
Location: Chester

#42

Post by al newall »

Overall, i prefer the naturalness and extra detail from the AK dac.
Though the Cirrus dac certainly seemed better in some respects..
Much to learn there is.
Andrew
Eternally single
Posts: 4106
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 2:18 pm

#43

Post by Andrew »

Nice case, nice contents, watch the waistline ;)
Analogue, the lost world that lies between 0 and 1.
Neal
Shed dweller
Posts: 2088
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:57 am
Location: From the land of the Bodgers

#44

Post by Neal »

Detail, tone and texture all better on the Biscuit DAC than the AK at the moment....the AK will be tweaked over the break to see how it improves. Waist line already expanding!
User avatar
floppybootstomp
Old Hand
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:37 pm
Location: Greenwich

#45

Post by floppybootstomp »

colin.hepburn wrote:NO you will need the Toslink cable and one of these converters works brill
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/200602526506? ... 1438.l2649
I now have one of those and have ordered assembled AK4396 board and suitable transformer from E-Bay, should arrive around January 5th.

Also purchased suitable case from Maplins so looking forward to hearing my FLAC files using this, rather than analogue direct out from the computer motherboard's onboard sound.

And by way of mention, RS want £6.42 + VAT for the LME49860 Opamp at this time. I shall take advice offered here and let the standard board run for 100 hours+ before el tweako.
Relevant boxes ticked - certified loony
Post Reply