Problem.

Subjects that don't have their own home
User avatar
Mike H
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 18555
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 5:38 pm
Location: The Fens
Contact:

Re: Problem.

Post by Mike H » Sat Jan 28, 2017 4:38 pm

Usually flashing over indicates the first capacitor value is too big. I ruined two 6X5 like that. Look at the rectifier's datasheet to see what the max cap value is. And it will probably also say you have to add resistors in series with the anodes, which add to the transformer winding resistance. So the resistor values are, what it says (anode resistance I think) minus the winding resistance.

EDIT: quite possible tho that the winding resistance is the right value, or as good as.
 
I have boxes and boxes full of components, but never the right ones!

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17826
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Re: Problem.

Post by pre65 » Wed Mar 27, 2019 9:39 pm

My Audionote copy pre amp has been at Nicks for examination, and Nick has found the problem to be leaking Audionote coupling capacitors.

Well done Nick. :)

Anyway, after discussions with Nick I've decided to get them replaced with Mundorf MCap Supreme Silver Gold Oil Capacitors.

I'm not due back up north for several weeks but I'll report on how it sounds when it's back home.
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

User avatar
IslandPink
Oooo, Roberts Radio's sound nice
Posts: 7316
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Denbigh, N.Wales

Re: Problem.

Post by IslandPink » Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:35 pm

Good result .. course I'm in the Mundorf Zn camp .. but it warns me off the Audio Note PIO's for good - cheers !"
"The bass is the king of the instruments - it has no known natural predator" (Wobble)

User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 12080
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Problem.

Post by Nick » Thu Mar 28, 2019 12:07 am

It was made worst in this case by the cap going to a 1M grid resistor. I have seen more than one case of them getting leaky over the years. Its a nice pre, full of black gates.
Resistance isn't futile it's V / I.

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17826
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Re: Problem.

Post by pre65 » Thu Mar 28, 2019 9:09 am

Nick wrote:
Thu Mar 28, 2019 12:07 am
It was made worst in this case by the cap going to a 1M grid resistor. I have seen more than one case of them getting leaky over the years. It's a nice pre, full of black gates.
I got it from Philip Ramsey (of Bluebell Audio) and he had made it from the very best components for his own use. I got it at a VERY good price for several reasons, one of which was an unknown issue that affected the performance at times. Now we know what it was.
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 12080
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Problem.

Post by Nick » Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:17 am

It was not hard to find. You said it was ok then went wrong. Just set up pre on analyzer, set for 1v output, distortion 0.1%, went away for a bit, came back one channel 5% the other 2.5%. There was not much in the thing, so not many things to test, checking voltages before and after what looked like a coupling cap between stages. 100v on one side, 5v on the other (that was connected to ground by a 1M resistor). Replaced cap with 0.1uf fim I had in the box and the problem went away.

As I said, its not the first time I had found one of them leaking a little.
Resistance isn't futile it's V / I.

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17826
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Re: Problem.

Post by pre65 » Wed Apr 24, 2019 1:42 pm

When I got the Audionote copy preamp back from Nick I put it in the system and played a few favourites.

To be honest it sounded OK, but not brilliant, but I left it playing to see if the new coupling caps needed burning in. After a week I went back to my Pre 3, and it made the Audionote copy seem bland. :shock:

Anyway, I still have an issue with Pre 3, sounds like a dry joint somewhere, but I can't find it. :cry:

So, back goes the Audionote copy, and this time it's really sounding great.

The cause was the rear switch that selects RCA or balanced output, it was in the wrong position causing the RCA outputs to be muted/muffled.

DOH !! :oops:
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

User avatar
Mike H
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 18555
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 5:38 pm
Location: The Fens
Contact:

Re: Problem.

Post by Mike H » Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:23 pm

Excellent, congrats. :thumbleft:
 
I have boxes and boxes full of components, but never the right ones!

Post Reply