Japanese DD TT re-plinth (general)

Love it or hate it, it just won't stop
Dr Bunsen Honeydew
Old Hand

#1 Japanese DD TT re-plinth (general)

Post by Dr Bunsen Honeydew »

I have had lots of experience with Japanese DD TT from the early 70's until recent offerings. I developed a theory that has largely proved to be correct that you make no mistake if you buy them by the kilo. The heavy ones are good, the light ones are shite. Of course platter and motor weight and quality are part of this, but the major part is the cheap plastic plinths used in the cheap ones.

Ten years ago you could buy the good ones for peanuts, one of my PL71's was bought then from a guy in Crawley for less that £50, now I wouldn't sell it for under £300 and probably more. Also available stock is drying up and has to bought from Germany or the US as in our flat earth stupidity very few were imported here.

So you woodworkers and DIY boffs, buy one of the cheapos still seen at eBay and get the tools out and see what difference adding a solid marine ply (or similar) plinth and solid arm board does for them. I think it would be a worthwhile exercise.
Nick
Site Admin

#2 Re: Japanese DD TT re-plinth (general)

Post by Nick »

I think you will find that been the advice of several sage members of this forum for at least 12 years.
Whenever an honest man discovers that he's mistaken, he will either cease to be mistaken or he will cease to be honest.
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power

#3 Re: Japanese DD TT re-plinth (general)

Post by pre65 »

It does no harm to reiterate something we have known for many years.

I did a big heavy plinth for a Dual 1019 idler a long time ago. :)
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
Dr Bunsen Honeydew
Old Hand

#4 Re: Japanese DD TT re-plinth (general)