i2s DAC solutions

I think we all know by now what this section is for.
User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 11731
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

Post by Nick » Sun Mar 09, 2014 10:58 pm

IDM wrote:Hi Nick,

When I connect the scope to the LRCK it doesn't even trip the timebase so there appears to be just no signal.

Cheers
Ian
Fair enough.
Resistance isn't futile it's V / I.

IDM
Old Hand
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 5:50 pm

Post by IDM » Wed Mar 12, 2014 9:03 pm

I bit the bullet and purchased a knew pi. I checked the BCK, Data and LRCK. All the signals were present. So I plucked up my courage and soldered the wires and plugged into my TDA1541A and to my absolute delight it works!

I have all the web radio stations and on initial listening sounds pretty good.

I am so pleased, this has been very painful.

Cheers
Ian

User avatar
Paul Barker
No idea why I do this anymore
Posts: 6945
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:42 pm

Post by Paul Barker » Wed Mar 12, 2014 9:51 pm

good news though for us all that is. Your pain helps others.
I can do it right or I can do it now, but I can't do it right now.

IDM
Old Hand
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 5:50 pm

Post by IDM » Thu Mar 13, 2014 8:59 am

I should also add that I re-downloaded Volumio 1.1 from the website and when I checked out the /etc/modules/ file the data is now correct and did not need to be edited. I simply downloaded the file unzipped it, flashed it to SD, configured the wireless network from the GUI and swithched on the I2S from the GUI and it worked.

Cheers
Ian

Neal
Needs to get out more
Posts: 1824
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:57 am
Location: From the land of the Bodgers

Post by Neal » Thu Apr 09, 2015 5:22 pm

Resurrecting an old thread, Ian how did you connect (IE what pins) did you use to connect the I2S interface? I would like to give this a try on my Arcam TDA1541A board...

Cheers.
Only the Sith deal in absolutes.

User avatar
Ray P
Shed dweller
Posts: 2845
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:18 pm
Location: Somerset

Post by Ray P » Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:36 pm

Which RPi version do you have Neal?

IDM
Old Hand
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 5:50 pm

Post by IDM » Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:15 pm

Hi,

I did all my configuration using a rapberry pi B+ and the details of the pins are shown in the lik below:

https://volumio.org/forum/hifiberry-and ... t-t29.html

If you scroll down you will see a picture or the P5 header identifying which pin does what. As I am sure you know you need the Data, Bck, LRCK and Gnd. Mck is not required for TDA2541A DAC (which is lucky because as far as I kow the raspberry Pi does not provide MCK!).

If you are using a rapsberry pi2 the output is different as it doesn't have a p5 header. I have just bought a pi2 to play with but havent got as far as using it to drive a DAC so dont know the pins offhand.

Hope that helps.

By the way if you get it to work I think you should be pleased with the sound. People talk about jitter with the pi and whilst I am sure that may be true, all I can say is that the pi blew away my previous CD transport.

Cheers

Ian

IDM
Old Hand
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 5:50 pm

Post by IDM » Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:16 pm

Hi,

I did all my configuration using a rapberry pi B+ and the details of the pins are shown in the lik below:

https://volumio.org/forum/hifiberry-and ... t-t29.html

If you scroll down you will see a picture or the P5 header identifying which pin does what. As I am sure you know you need the Data, Bck, LRCK and Gnd. Mck is not required for TDA2541A DAC (which is lucky because as far as I kow the raspberry Pi does not provide MCK!).

If you are using a rapsberry pi2 the output is different as it doesn't have a p5 header. I have just bought a pi2 to play with but havent got as far as using it to drive a DAC so dont know the pins offhand.

Hope that helps.

By the way if you get it to work I think you should be pleased with the sound. People talk about jitter with the pi and whilst I am sure that may be true, all I can say is that the pi blew away my previous CD transport.

Cheers

Ian

IDM
Old Hand
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 5:50 pm

Post by IDM » Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:17 pm

Ooh, that got posted twice, I wonder why!!

Cheers
Ian

Neal
Needs to get out more
Posts: 1824
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:57 am
Location: From the land of the Bodgers

Post by Neal » Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:41 pm

Thanks Ian, found your thread on the volumio site. I've got an RPi2, I've found the pins and a diagram on Google, will link to it when back on the laptop and not the tablet....

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-QzzWKWacbRA/V ... 531;デム.png

Pins 12, 35 and 40
Only the Sith deal in absolutes.

User avatar
Ray P
Shed dweller
Posts: 2845
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:18 pm
Location: Somerset

Post by Ray P » Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:48 pm


Neal
Needs to get out more
Posts: 1824
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:57 am
Location: From the land of the Bodgers

Post by Neal » Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:26 am

That's interesting Ray, the BBB would appear to have a better clock implementation for audio. Lots of good reports on the RPi sound quality though...will have to hook up my TDA1541 and see how it goes...
Only the Sith deal in absolutes.

User avatar
jack
Social outcast
Posts: 3104
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: No longer living somewhere stupidly hot...
Contact:

Post by jack » Fri Apr 10, 2015 9:26 am

The new Pi 2 is a lot better - its the same price but with 6 x the performance - 4 vs. 1 core and each core is later version and running at 900MHz vs 700MHz of the Pi B & B+ models.

Clocking is improved, as are the on-board PSUs.

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17563
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Post by pre65 » Fri Apr 10, 2015 9:49 am

Neal wrote:That's interesting Ray, the BBB would appear to have a better clock implementation for audio. Lots of good reports on the RPi sound quality though...will have to hook up my TDA1541 and see how it goes...
Watching with interest. :D

I have a TDA1541 waiting for something like this. :wink:
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

Neal
Needs to get out more
Posts: 1824
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:57 am
Location: From the land of the Bodgers

Post by Neal » Fri Apr 10, 2015 2:35 pm

I've connected up the RPi using the header on the Arcam board where previously I had the I2S o/p from a CS8412 connected which works fine but I'm getting nothing out of the DAC when using the RPi.

I'm pretty sure I've got the correct pin combination:

RPi pin 35 to pin 1 TDA (LRCK) marked WS on the Arcam Board
RPi pin 12 to pin 2 TDA (BCK) marked CK on the Arcam Board
RPi pin 40 to pin 3 TDA (DATA) marked DATA on the Arcam Board

I'm using Volumio v1.55 and have enabled I2S but there are a number of DAC choices, is there a specific setting for the TDA1541A or do I have to edit the config file in Linux?
Only the Sith deal in absolutes.

Post Reply