RPi for NOOBS!

I think we all know by now what this section is for.
Paul Barker
Social Sevices have been notified

#1 RPi for NOOBS!

Post by Paul Barker »

My SH RPi just arrived.

Total Noob, as defined by the inventors.

So thought first things first. Follow RPi advice and am downloading a programme called NOOBS having already downloaded a program which within Windows 7 format's the SD card to the satisfaction of the RPi folk. They don't like the Windows formatting tool. Who am I to argue.

So I formatted the 8gig card which was bundled with my SH Pi.

By the way the free case I got with my Pi, which contained neat heatsink's no complaints even if they aren't required, is great. I can leave it on the shelf under tv (which will be the visual interface) and not worry about other people breaking it. I would say the package is top banna.

I bought a pair of Powerline adapters to get LAN Ethernet connection for Pi and am presently testing those on the laptop. If you end up seeing this post you will know that worked a treat.

I did order a self powered usb hub, I ordered a keyboard. Neither yet come. No keyboard no start to do anything.

But I have a wireless usb keyboard (well my son pinched that but I can borrow it back when he gets back from Boxing). Just by some miracle, when I have put a NOOBS loaded SD card into the Pi it may recognaise the wireless keyboard. If not I am stranded high and dry until I manage to scrounge a usb plug in keyboard. No keyboard no progress.

Presently Noobs zip file is downloading to the Windows 7 machine.

I figure baby steps, lets just get a simple operating system loaded on and surf the net with it. Then go for loading volumio and trying to get DAC's working.

That is why I put this new thread up. For other complete idiots like me.
"Two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I am not yet completely sure about the universe." – Albert Einstein
Paul Barker

Post by Paul Barker »