Hi from a Speaker Designing Fanatic and Lenco Newbie

To cut down on spam, we tend to remove users that haven't posted anything after a day or so, so this is the place to say hi for the first time.
stevie7v
User

#1 Hi from a Speaker Designing Fanatic and Lenco Newbie

Post by stevie7v »

My name is Steve Margolis and I am a speaker designer.

Phew! I feel much better now I've got that out.

Unfortunately, I've still got the habit and am, in fact, in the process on producing a new batch of speakers, including one that is actually a complete hi-fi system.

I've only been aware of the audio-talk.co.uk forum for a little while and enjoy it so I've decided to join.

My speaker company was called 'Seventh Veil' (hence my name here) and it was a complete, commercial failure. When I started I honestly believed that the hi-fi industry was about the search for truth and beauty. I soon learnt that it was more about the search for money. Still, I'm still quite proud of the products I produced and would like to show them below - as this is an introduction.

This was my first professional design - the Seventh Veil System IV - and was far too purist to survive. It incorporated 4 x 2" special Bandor full-range drivers, no crossovers or filters whatsoever, a transmission line built into the stand, and a non-resonant enclosure incorporating an egg-shaped interior volume.

I loved many aspects of the System IV sound but recognised its flaws so the next product was designed to overcome some of these flaws - and it did. This links to a brief intro:

http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/newsflas ... -2003.html