new here

To cut down on spam, we tend to remove users that haven't posted anything after a day or so, so this is the place to say hi for the first time.
nic
User

#1 new here

Post by nic »

Found this place while looking up PT15 valves . Looks like I may know some of the members here already from other forums or whatever :) I'm mainly an amp and linestage builder , have also built a few pairs of box speakers and a few ESL panels . I try to avoid conventional valves , it's getting the weird oddballs to work and sound good that I enjoy most . Got a nice pile to work through . Currently I'm playing with some odd old tx valves in class A2 and getting fairly good results .

Happy St Georges Day !

cheers

Nic
Attachments
a2
a2
richardcooper2k
Old Hand

Post by richardcooper2k »

sounds like there'll be some here you'll have experiences to share with . welcome !
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power

Post by pre65 »

Hi Nic-i've just dismantled my PT15 monoblocks to start the next project.

Still got 6 PT15 valves though (4 NOS and 2 used !!!!!)

Welcome to the "nuthouse" :wink: :lol:
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
Nick
Site Admin

Post by Nick »

Cool. I had a moment of sanity and thought to stop playing with silly valves, then I came to my senses and realised I had never tried anything by Eimac, looks like you are just the person to talk to :-)
Whenever an honest man discovers that he's mistaken, he will either cease to be mistaken or he will cease to be honest.
nic
User

Post by nic »

The valves are Heintz and Kaufman HK54 , similar sort of thing to the Eimacs with self-gettered tantalum anodes and a healthy 25 watt filament . Drivers are HK24 , these are only running with a small amount of anode cherrying at 8mA . Once pairs of filament chokes and heat disspating caps are located , these valves are fairly straightforward to use . I'm having fun anyway :)

cheers