Instrument patch cables.

We all start somewhere
Post Reply
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 18685
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Instrument patch cables.

Post by pre65 » Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:32 am

I recently purchased some Somer Tri-cone mk2 hiflex cable to make some interconnects, and I have no problem with it at all.

But, I was trying to find what the maximum voltage rating was, and all the data sheets I can find don't seem to list it.

So, in general, what sort of voltages are these types of cable supposed to operate at ?

And to ask the question in a different way, is there a commonly available coaxial (ie shielded) cable that is safe at 1000v for use in my 833a amp from OPT to 833a anode ?
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 12644
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Instrument patch cables.

Post by Nick » Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:50 am

So, in general, what sort of voltages are these types of cable supposed to operate at
Its a signal cable, so maybe 20v AC
that is safe at 1000v for use in my 833a amp from OPT to 833a anode
Remember if the anode is at 1kv then during signal swings it can go up to 2kv and needs cable selected on that basis. I used extra sleeving to add to the required voltage rating of the cable used.
Resistance isn't futile it's V / I.

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 18685
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Re: Instrument patch cables.

Post by pre65 » Tue Jul 28, 2020 10:27 am

Nick wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:50 am
I used extra sleeving to add to the required voltage rating of the cable used.
Yes, I'd got some here for insulation purposes, but I was also concerned about picking up interference, or stop the wire acting like an aerial (as you have reminded me of in the past).

The wire I use with the extra insulation is 3.5mm OD, so something like this might do ?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Tinned-Coppe ... SwThtbYc2O

*
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 12644
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Instrument patch cables.

Post by Nick » Tue Jul 28, 2020 10:37 am

No, I would use something that gives you a voltage rating. Myself I would buy from a accredited supplier not ebay. But its your call.
Resistance isn't futile it's V / I.

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 18685
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Re: Instrument patch cables.

Post by pre65 » Tue Jul 28, 2020 10:52 am

Nick wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 10:37 am
No, I would use something that gives you a voltage rating. Myself I would buy from a accredited supplier not ebay. But its your call.
Understood, but even the Raychem data sheet has no mention of a voltage rating.

http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/24475 ... 1595924384

Being for military use it should be of a standard ?

Another question, if I did use that type of braiding, does the braid need grounding ?
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 12644
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Instrument patch cables.

Post by Nick » Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:02 am

Understood, but even the Raychem data sheet has no mention of a voltage rating.
Thats because its for screening, It assumes the cables its screening will be rated for whatever voltage they need.
if I did use that type of braiding, does the braid need grounding
If you wanted to use it for screening I guess yes.
Resistance isn't futile it's V / I.

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 18685
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Re: Instrument patch cables.

Post by pre65 » Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:16 am

Thanks Nick, I appreciate your assistance. :)
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 18685
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Re: Instrument patch cables.

Post by pre65 » Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:46 pm

I ordered some of the braiding I linked to, but I misunderstood the dimensions, and the role of the plastic former. What a div. :lol:

But, If I encase my wire in nylon tubing (2.5mm ID x 4mm OD) then the aforementioned braid should fit perfectly once off the former.

So not such a bad thing after all. :D
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

Post Reply